P. S. Demonfire you.   Leave a comment

Someone new to the format, Charles, came to Ogre’s Games to draft the store’s cube.  He had heard about the format and wanted to give it a shot.  I explained the more detailed aspects of the format (and made a sudden realization that I should change Crystal Ball into Mimic Vat, which I did!  I’m also considering changing Spikeshot Elder to Goblin Welder and Rude Awakening to Terastodon.)

We had 6 and it was immensely fun.  I played against Charles in the first round and  I had never seen Chain Lightning get “chained” in my entire cube life, yet it happened, RR obtained from a City of Brass and a Grand Coliseum!  Even when losing, I was, non-sarcastically having a blast.

“I don’t think that I’ve ever seen anyone enjoy losing so much.”

Strangely, this isn’t the first time that I’ve heard this.  My friend Bryan (who was the subject of the counterburn story on the Limited Resources podcast) once said that I was a “magic masochist.”  It isn’t that I enjoy losing, it’s that seeing others discover card interactions and others having fun with something that I designed makes me incredibly happy.  Seeing my opponent draw 3 thanks to Graveborn Muse and Phyrexian Arena and counteracting the life loss with Sorin Markov was something that I was happy to see unfold.  When I asked Charles what he thought, he said that it was awesome and I was glad that he was introduced to the awesomeness that is cube drafting.

Granted, this post isn’t just about gushing about how fun I find seeing cube interactions happen and a relatively minor cube list change.  I’ve got some pretty big cube-related news but like the title implies, I’m going to slow-roll it for a few days.  If you enjoy the content of this blog, you’ll probably be happy about the news… I know that I am!

Posted November 25, 2010 by Usman in List Updates, Ogre's Cube, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

