Podcast, ahoy!   6 comments

So what happens when you write an article that a total of 5 people probably read? Well, you get enough credit for a mini-haul:

Photobucket

Photobucket

Nothing of Jace-level (even baby Jace) price, but I was glad to be able to get a few things that I’ve wanted to get with my store credit. Some other cards like a Great Sable Stag weren’t used because a friend gave me a Japanese one after my order came, which was really nice.  It seems CE cards’ square corners are essentially a non-factor, so I’m happy to have the White Knight all pimped out like that.  It makes me nostalgic because I loved the card back in the day.  Good times.  The Burst Lightning that I got was a foil Zendikar one, so the textless one’s going in the attic.  I mean, my commons cube.

I’ve updated my list with a few more changes, but here’s what happened below:

-Opposition, +Standstill: After thinking about it, 4 mana’s really tight in blue (and white too, now that I think about it) and Opposition just can’t compete, even in this tempo strategy that I’m trying to push. Standstill seems like it should work… if used correctly (unlike the genius who ran Sarcomancy in his 4-color BU control deck.)

-Caves of Koilos, +Fetid Heath: I feel that this should help WB decks as both colors are filled to the gills with double-cost cards (like Skinrender and both of the Mirrodin Besieged white creatures.)

-Creeping Mold, +Nature’s Claim: Should be a good way for green decks to kill things cheaply. Is the lifeloss too big of a drawback? I’ll find out.

-Blade of the Sixth Pride and Eight-and-a-Half-Tails, +Mistral Charger and Stormfront Pegasus: An experiment to see how much evasion matters on aggressive creatures. I’ve been less and less impressed with 8.5 Tails as I’ve had my cube, it’s always felt like it costed way too much mana to use, was too small, etc. I’d like to get Blade of the Sixth Pride in again, but I think that it’s going to have to stay on the sidelines again.

So what’s with the title?  Creator of Type 4, Apples to Eldrazi, writer and generally awesome fellow Anthony Avitollo and I are going to record a cube podcast on Wednesday! The show will be about 30 minutes.  I’ll post more details when it gets closer to being posted… hopefully on MTGcast!

Posted January 2, 2011 by Usman in Uncategorized

6 responses to “Podcast, ahoy!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was really surprised how much damage I can deal with Mistral Charger and Stormfront Pegasus. There are not many creatures for less than 6 mana that can trade with them (13 including Sower of Temptation) not to mention survive (11) in my cube (478 cards).

    • Sweet. 🙂 I really would love to get Blade back as the power is really nice, but yeah, not much in other colors can kill those until the later stages of the game. It reminds me of when I played a Wild Dogs T1 and my opponent finally dealt with it on turn 4 with a Venser (bouncing a land with the trigger.)

  2. Nice pimp update. t here are quite a few cards in there I wouldn’t mind in my cube. I love the newer art on Yavimaya Elder. Wish they would print/foil that thing out. “beta” white knights are gorgeous. Too bad the foil promo version doesn’t look nearly as good.
    What is the black card next to flood?

    • Wei Ambush Force:

      1B
      When ~ attacks, it gets +2/+0 until EOT.
      1/1

      Essentially a weaker Blade of the Sixth Pride.

      I like the older Yavimaya Elder art, but not by… much. Maybe I just dig the old border.

  3. My favorite version of the Elder is still the fake card from magiclampoon in response to the announced name changes with M10 http://magiclampoon.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2009/05/yavimaya-elder.gif

    Full article here: http://magiclampoon.com/blog/2010/03/11/upcoming-rule-changes-for-magic-2010/

Leave a Reply

