Podcast, SWOT and MBS, oh my!   4 comments

So me and Anthony have recorded 2 episodes of the podcast and I recorded an episode with Adam Styborski about commons cubes.  I’ll post a link when I upload it (tomorrow, since I’m going to give the episode a listen.)  I’ve never interviewed anyone and it shows in this episode, but overall, I think that it went well.

However, during recording, it feels like an hour isn’t enough time.  Most of the other MTG-related podcasts that I listen to (Limited Resources, Monday Night Magic, Yo! MTG Taps) last about 2 hours.  So, I dunno if the episodes should be lengthened.  What do you think?

I went deep into the tank (with a good amount of help from Adam) for an article for QuietSpeculation on doing a SWOT analysis on each color’s strengths, weaknesses and archetypes (with this article being about white) and I think that it was a home run.  It’s given me a unique look at how the colors behave and playing to those strengths makes them work better overall.

Review of MBS cards to come tomorrow.   However, I was able to do a cube sealed with Thrun, a Sword of Fire and Ice, Skullclamp AND a Sword of Light and Shadow.  Thrun is very much the real deal, he’s very hard to deal with and 4 power (and toughness) is certainly no slouch.  I also think that Leonin Relic-Warder will be a great card that I feel is currently underrated (hint: it’s not a removal spell strapped onto a creature, it’s a disruptive tempo creature.)  More to come later tonight!

Posted January 20, 2011 by Usman in Uncategorized

4 responses to “Podcast, SWOT and MBS, oh my!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Being someone who usually doesn’t listen to podcasts, I defnitely think the shorter you make it, the better. I usually dont have time to devote an hour and a half to two hours to listening to a podcast, so keeping it short and sweet seems best. I would say something along the lines of 45-60 minutes would be a “sweet spot” in the sense that it can be listened to in about the amount of time an episode of House (or other hour long drama) could be watched. If it gets too long it starts to drag on and on and on.

  2. Being someone who usually does listen to a lot of Podcasts (Eh Team, Limited Resources, Scrubland, Yo MTG taps, Monday Night Magic, Commandercast) I think that I will listen to your stuff on my way to work/at work/on my way home as long as you guys have content and/or are entertaining.
    That said, I guess 90min is a nice treshhold. On the other hand, when you talk about just one topic, it should be short and on point, since I (and many others too I guess) don’t listen to your cast/other casts in one sitting. The exception is maybe LR, since they tend to really dive deep into a topic.

    I think the topics will dictate the time you need for a cast. Just try to be concise and funny.
    (I mean, if you got a guest like the stybs you get away with a looong podcast)

    Greetings from Switzerland!

  3. As someone who listens to a lot of podcasts while at work, I believe longer to be better.

  4. Movie-length, damn it!

Leave a Reply

