Crack-a-pack for Episode #9.   3 comments

Photobucket

I should probably add some episode commentary here.

The main thing was about Inkwell Leviathan, I forgot to mention that he doesn’t have shroud in the argument against him. I think he’s the best out of the 3 giant robots for sure because of that, since spot removal tends to be used a lot in cube and cards like Swords to Plowshares and Path to Exile stop the colossi dead. But still, I don’t feel that he’s good enough.

I tried him in my cube a while ago and it eventually just ended up being

  • If you have Tinker, mise this because no one else will want this.
  • If no one has opened Tinker yet, get this late, put it in your sideboard and hope to mise Tinker in the next pack(s.)
  • If not, oh well, it was a late pick anyway.

It seemed like a great control finisher: a big butt, shroud and some decent evasion abilities. But it didn’t work because when it wasn’t Tinkered into play, its non-immediate board impact just killed it as all of the 8+ mana creatures in my cube have a devastating effect once they come into play.  Also, all of the giant robots that I’m running (Wurmcoil Engine, Myr Battlesphere, Sundering Titan) are awesome with Tinker but I’m more than happy to run them in any deck that ramps up to their mana. Inkwell? Not so much. So I took it out.

Some time later (I think 6 months or a year) – I tried him again, mainly based on talk on MTGSalvation about how he was such a scary threat. The same thing ended up happening: in the first draft, someone got the combo and won with it, but every other time, no one bothered with it.

I tried, Inkwell. I really tried. But your non-immediate board impact for 9 mana, it just didn’t work out. I’m sorry, Inky.

XOXO Usman.

Posted March 21, 2011 by Usman in Uncategorized

3 responses to “Crack-a-pack for Episode #9.

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dude, I gotta say, I disagree on Inkwell. I have a friend that views him the same way you’re looking at him: Tinker or bust. I just don’t think that’s the case. As a matter of fact, I had him hard cast against me a couple nights ago ftw. He has no immediate board impact, but he is scary as hell. I don’t think Tinker.dec is the only build where he’s at home. Reanimator and Ramp both love to see this guy as well.

    • I really tried to integrate him in stuff like U/X control but I generally found other high mana finishers to perform that role better. Blue’s definitely the best color to use it since many control archetypes are blue-based but it always just felt rather… underpowered unless it was Tinkered into play.

      It was one of those cards that I really really wanted to live up to being a huge monster but I eventually had to bin it (the same with Grizzly Fate, man, how I wanted that card to be good but it never panned out.) Le sigh.

      • I’d have to agree with calibretto in terms of how functional Inkwell is in terms of reanimator. I definitely push a UB renimator theme and that guy is definitely at the top of the best targets. The Tinker-ability is usually just gravy. I’ve used him a lot as just a control finisher, but you’re right in that there are likely other high-end blue guys that accomplish the same goal.

        But, as always, my biggest point about cubing is customizing the experience, so I have no qualms about an Inkwell-less cube.

Leave a Reply

