GP Atlanta   3 comments

Hey all!

It’s been a while since I wrote on here, and I figured an awesome event like a local GP would be worth it. A lot of great things happened, including but not limited to:

– Meeting Adam Styborski (@the_stybs on Twitter) in person, and getting to trade/Cube/eat/chat with him plenty over the course of the weekend. He is a former editor of mine (from Quiet Speculation), and it is always great to hang out with like-minded people.
– Cubing with Justin Parnell (@JParnell1) and his newly-assembled proxy Cube, complete with M13 cards.
– Drafting a great Boros deck, which I’m not sure I could have drafted any better.
– Being interviewed on camera by Richard Castle, who is doing an episode of Inside the Deck (www.insidethedeck.com) on Cubes and Cubing.
– Having two friends finish undefeated on day one.
– Selling bulk rares and foils in order to defer Magical costs.
– Trading for cards on the floor for cheaper than buylist prices at dealers.
– Selling my Land Taxes, and turning them into new sleeves.
– Trading for new Cube cards!

Hanging with Adam was awesome; he is a down-to-earth guy who is very knowledgeable and opinionated about a lot of things who has a very similar sense of humor to me, so we obviously got along fabulously. We showed each other our Cubes (he showed me his so I showed him mine!), and I didn’t even mind when he complained a bunch about how ‘regular’ Cubes are terrible! My 6-0ing of him probably helped the sting 😉 Sunday night we even went out to Vortex, a somewhat-famous local Atlanta food place, where we had ample portions of meat and other items. A ride to the airport finished it off, and I look forward to meeting up with him again soon!

Hanging with Justin Parnell was also a great time, even though I had to miss the Rotisserie Cube draft scheduled for Sunday (for the same reason I couldn’t play in the main event: I had a gig on Sunday morning). I got to share my condolences about his Cube theft in person (which is rough for anyone, no matter how ‘pimp’ it is), and I also got a couple of drafts in with his newly-proxied Cube. In the second draft, I got to draft the following monstrosity in a 6-man:

Isamaru, Hound of Konda
Elite Vanguard
Figure of Destiny
Tattermunge Maniac
Stromkirk Noble
Student of Warfare
Accorder Paladin
Cloistered Youth
Soltari Trooper
Knight of Glory
Stormblood Berserker
Silverblade Paladin
Spectral Possession
Hellrider
Hero of Bladehold
Sublime Archangel

Mana Tithe
Lightning Bolt
Arc Trail
Incinerate
Umezawa’s Jitte
Ajani, Caller of the Pride
Ajani Goldmane
Ajani Vengeant

Marsh Flats
Windswept Heath
Plateau
Sacred Foundry
Rugged Prairie
Slayer’s Stronghold
Ghitu (Ghetto) Encampment

7 Plains
2 Mountain

Some notes:
– I got passed Jitte in pack 3. It’s been so long since that happened to me!
– That’s right; alllllll the Ajanis. And they were all outstanding, of course.
– I got passed Sword of Feast and Famine pack 2, pick 2…and took the Sacred Foundry. Absolutely the right pick for my deck, and not many people would do that. To be fair, I decided to force Boros because I had a feeling it would be open after my first draft with that particular group of gentlemen. As it turned out, I was virtually the only white drafter and the only primary-red drafter was downstream from me for two packs (sorry, Stybs!).
– Much like I said in my article about drafting mono-red, one-drops and mana fixing are so key it is outrageous, and I was able to actually play all the spells in my deck on time because of my sicko manabase.
– Sublime Archangel is insane; I hope I can get a foil one for cheaper than a million dollars.
– Mana Tithe is such a dagger. Sneak At…tithe? *groan*
– My final record was 3-0, 6-0 in games that counted. Overall, it was roughly 15-2 in games with my only two losses coming from missing red mana. Nice. Deck.

Meeting Richard Castle was awesome! He made me feel important and made the filming process very easy for his upcoming episode, and I’m looking forward to meeting with him again at GenCon (I hope), and to the upcoming episode. Check out his work at http://www.insidethedeck.com!

Quick Land Tax story: The night they were unbanned, I bought 3 of them (Italian Legends) for $8 in store credit each. On site, I got $20 cash for each of them. One of the dealers had Dragon Shields on sale, 2 boxes of 100 for $15. So I re-sleeved my entire Cube, including lands, with plenty left over, in nifty green Dragon Shields for $24 in store credit. Go me. I didn’t realize how much new sleeves make a difference, but WOW does my Cube look nice now!

Lastly, I traded for some new Cube cards! Here are the goods I picked up over the course of the GP:

Ok well, this one was from the Invitational, but it is a fun one:

You don’t see these too often…thanks, Kranny!

Next, a possible new addition…what do you think?

A nice Russian foil:

Ooo…Russiany!

A suitable replacement for the un-fun Jace, Memory Adept:

Socks with sandals!

And now a couple of very nice and very rare upgrades. First up, a card I had never seen before in such a language:

They seriously cut this from the MODO Cube? Have they read this card?

And finally, a card I have chased for probably six to seven years, but never had the opportunity to obtain one! Here it is, in all its glory!

The pinnacle of Force pimp, IMO!

TL;DR: I had fun!

-AA

Posted July 8, 2012 by antknee42 in Uncategorized

3 responses to “GP Atlanta

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. When you talked about picking up something you have wanted for a long time on Third Power, i snap called German FoW, you mentioned it more than any other card on the cast

  2. Here’s one way to answer your question: would you have cut anything from that Boros deck for Reckless Charge? Knight of Glory, maybe?

Leave a Reply

