Odds//Ends again   2 comments

So Anthony and I have been getting into a regular rhythm of recording every other Monday which will help with the regularity of podcasts rather than “well, whenever we have time to.” šŸ™‚ We’ll do another “color” episode about black followed by an episode about Journey Into Nyx.

Another thing, however, is how I’m wanting to utilize this blog.
Lately, it’s been pretty much just a repository for crack-a-packs, which is fine, but it doesn’t really do much for being an actual blog or providing much in terms of information.

So to that point, I’ll ask you – what kind of content would you like to see on the blog aside from crack-a-pack and cube updates? What kinds of topics would you want me to blog about?

Posted April 12, 2014 by Usman in Uncategorized

2 responses to “Odds//Ends again

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Are you still writing every other week for SCG? I haven’t seen anything from you recently but If you were, I’d say the blog would be good for short topics that don’t warrant a full article. Ideas could be:
    – More “how would you build this pool” questions
    – MODO Cube change logs and notes
    – Single card spotlights
    – Draft variants
    – Cube concepts that aren’t completely fleshed out yet into article-length pieces

    My own personal wish is more Pauper Cube updates. Two things I noticed about your list that could be topics in their own right:
    – Raw power vs. themes / synergies: Your pauper cube appears to feature more cards that are powerful in a vacuum instead of building themes and synergies into the guilds. I actually like that since I usually cube with more inexperienced drafters and a uniformly high power level means they are rarely disappointed with their decks.
    – Number of cards to draft: A form of cube variant. Since I usually get 4-6 players, I usually adjust the packs down to 5packs x 9 cards to offer more exciting chances at first picks. Sometimes I reduce the numbers from there and play with them a little due to the ease of getting 23 playables in a high power draft and make draft choices a little more meaningful. Numbers I’ve run have included 3×13, 5×8 or even 4×9.

  2. I have always thought you were one of the most insightful cube writers, and have often referenced your articles while building mine. I don’t know if this is the kind of thing you do in your podcasts now, but little blurbs explaining why you are adding or removing specific cards, archetypes you specifically support, an experiment where you add smallpox support to black, etc. These things are great to read and valuable to build off of.

    Also, thank you for all the great work you’ve done so far!

Leave a Reply

