I actually updated my cube!   Leave a comment

In case all… 3 of you may have noticed, I’ve been pretty awful about actually updating my blog list and cube.  I guess there’s a theme there, eh?  🙂

On the podcast, it’s been a running joke that I never seem to update this blog aside from crack-a-packs.  I’m going to be changing this, utilizing it more for list changes and content that I’ve created, like my 2-part review (colorless and non-colorless) on OGW, the podcast review and my guest appearance on the “What’s In The Box” podcast.

I host weekly cube drafts and frequently make changes to the list (usually on the Tuesday before the draft, if not several times) but my Cube Tutor list stayed unchanged.  I saw somewhere that my list on CT hadn’t been updated since April 2015 and that’s just abysmal.

So I did a complete reset on my list since I figured it’d get me to finally get it up to date.  Well, it worked.  It’s up to date now.

Before BFZ, I did a reboot of my pauper cube (which I’m looking to get updated on CT as well) inspired by the recent Modern Masters 2015 set, where things like affinity/Metalcrafts are things and while my regular cube list didn’t go as far on that, it got me to doing some changes in sections.  As discussed on the podcast, one thing I did was cutting multicolor to 2 per pair (I have hybrid separately because they play different roles than multicolor as being a boon rather than a drawback, which I posted about last year.  Unfortunately, CT doesn’t really account for this, so it looks like some multicolor sections are wonky) to account for new colorless cards.

I’ve always talked about how cube design isn’t so much a compilation of the best cards and how it’s about crafting a draft environment featuring powerful cards.  People sometimes see a card being removed from a cube as being “not good enough,” and while sometimes cards do get cut because they aren’t, this ignores things like crafting an environment (because after all, wouldn’t an on-deck binder just be pointless, then, if not to re-visit cards that were cut for reasons other than solely for power reasons and for environment crafting?)  Because of that, sometimes list updates will be trying things out, rather than it being a decree of a card being bad, but I’ll likely put that in updates.

Thanks.  🙂

Posted January 29, 2016 by Usman in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

